Great River Health Systems Names Excellence Award Winners

Great River Health presented Excellence in Practice Awards Thursday, May 19, to six employees and one physician who have shown exemplary practice or performed specific deeds that exceed expectations to help patients, patients’ families, coworkers, the community or their professions.

The Clinical Excellence Award recognizes outstanding clinical care. The winner was Andrew Rendoff, Great River Orthopaedic Specialists. Finalists were Brenda Lanferman, Home Health and Hospice, and Amie Orth, Pulmonary Rehabilitation.

The Community Excellence Award recognizes voluntary contributions. The winner was K.C. Fleming, Medical Staff Office. Finalists were Craig Borchard, Marketing and Public Relations, and Becky Godfrey, Hospice.

TheLeadership Excellence Award recognizes proven leadership skills. The winner was Sheena Abbott, Athletic and Performance Center. Finalists were Krystal Fedoris, Respiratory Care Services, and Janelle McGuire, Hospice.

TheNursing Excellence Award recognizes a registered nurse who provides outstanding direct patient care. The winner was Samantha Ripple, Klein Center. Finalists were Beth Peterson, Hospice, and Kristin Vorwerk, Great River Nephrology.

ThePhysician Excellence Award recognizes outstanding patient care, leadership and citizenship. The winner was Peter Reynen, M.D., Great River Family Practice Clinic. Finalists were Wilson Davis Jr., M.D., The Keokuk Clinic, and John Rashid, M.D., Great River Medicine Specialists.

The Service Excellence Award recognizes an employee who does not provide direct patient care but has an integral role in a health-system service. The winner was Holly Newberry, Human Resources. Finalists were Amy Buffington, Heritage Medical Equipment and Supplies, and Megan Woodard, Hospice.

The Rookie of the Year Award recognizes someone who has made an impression in his or her first year of employment. The winner was Ashley Bartenhagen, Hospice. Finalists were Angie Deggendorf, Great River Nephrology, and Hannah O’Brien, Patient Access.