Great River Health Systems Names Excellence Award Winners

Great River Health presented Excellence in Practice Awards Thursday, May 7, to five employees and one physician who have demonstrated exemplary practice or performed specific deeds that exceed expectations to help patients, patients’ families, coworkers, the community or their professions.

The Clinical Excellence Award recognizes outstanding clinical care. The winner was Charlie Sharp, Pharmacy. Finalists were Barbara Miller, Hospice, and Donna Whiting, Acute Care Center.

The Community Excellence Award recognizes voluntary contributions of time and effort. The winner was Melissa Jones, Great River Physicians and Clinics Administration. Finalists were Steve Krieger, Heritage Medical Equipment and Supplies, and Lisa Nafziger, Great River Physicians and Clinics Administration.

TheLeadership Excellence Award recognizes proven leadership skills. The winner was Jeff Taeger, Rehabilitation Services. Finalists were Kevin Dameron, Environmental Services, and Fran Strauss, Surgical Services.

TheNursing Excellence Award recognizes a registered nurse who provides outstanding direct patient care. The winner was Melissa Krieger, Digestive Health Center. Finalists were Teesa Kershner, Acute Care Center, and Cindy Stevens, Great River Nephrology.

ThePhysician Excellence Award recognizes outstanding patient care, leadership and citizenship. The winner was Valerie Denz, M.D., Great River Pulmonology. Finalists were Abdullah Alwahdani, M.D., Great River Cardiology, and James Milani, D.O., Great River Business Health.

The Service Excellence Award recognizes an employee who does not provide direct patient care but has an integral role in a health-system service. The winner was Kyle Gugeler, Athletic and Performance Center. Finalists were Angie Shriver, Information Systems, and Tiffany West, Corporate Education.