Great River Health names excellence award winners

West Burlington, Iowa, May 18, 2018 – Great River Health presented Excellence in Practice Awards Thursday, May 17, to six employees and one physician who have shown exemplary practice or performed specific deeds that exceed expectations to help patients, patients’ families, coworkers, the community or their professions.

The Clinical Excellence Award recognizes outstanding clinical care. The winner was Dean Vantiger, Klein Center. Finalists were Natalie Lionberger, Utilization Management, and Jennifer Parrott, Diagnostic Imaging.

The Community Excellence Award recognizes voluntary contributions. The winner was Joan Hunt, Day Hospital. Finalists were Teresa Morehead, Rehabilitation Services, and Patti Whitaker, Emergency Department.

The Leadership Excellence Award recognizes proven leadership skills. The winner was Chris Oleson, Home Health and Hospice. Finalists were Cathy Wilkens, Surgical Services, and Elizabeth Yore, Cardiology Services.

The Nursing Excellence Award recognizes a registered nurse who provides outstanding direct patient care. The winner was Cathie Hanks-Sattler, Diagnostic Imaging and Pediatrics Unit. Finalists were Katie Lingenfelter, Urology, and Denise Strack, Surgical Services.

The Physician Excellence Award recognizes outstanding patient care, leadership and citizenship. The winner was Doug Peters, MD, Family Medicine. Finalists were Dany Saad, MD, Orthopaedic Specialists, and John Thurman, DO, Family Medicine-Mercy Plaza.

The Service Excellence Award recognizes an employee who does not provide direct patient care but has an integral role in a health-system service. The winner was Stephanie Hightower, Nursing Informatics. Finalists were Traci Gerling, Kid Zone, and Cassie Sheeran, Cardiology.

The Rookie of the Year Award recognizes someone who has made an impression in his or her first two years of employment. The winner was Melissa Brewer, Nursing. Finalists were Tanya Mutton, Surgical Services, and Briley Wildar, Obstetrics Unit.